Apps? I don’t need no stinkin’ apps!

In my rambles through writing oriented blogs I came across someone recommending that books should now be published as apps–as well as in a gazillion different formats.   What?  Why would a book, particularly fiction, require an app?  Apps are designed to take you to one place, again and again and again.  Think Angry Birds.  A novel is usually read once in a lifetime.  Maybe twice.  It didn’t seem to me to make sense to develop an app for fiction.  Maybe for a reference book, but not some juicy, bloody, and/or brilliant novel.

Happily, this very topic came up on the Tools of Change group on LinkedIn a couple of days ago.  And I felt vindicated.  The postings went both ways–for and against–but when I left the thread the “againsts” were in the strongest position.  The most convincing argument for was:  apps are good for children’s books because they can be interactive.

Part of the interest in book apps has been spurred by Bowker, http://myidentifiers.com, which now offers some sort of Android app creation program on their website.  For only $299.  Plus an annual maintenance fee.  There are also sites that offer this same service for free.  But the kicker is: Amazon does not accept apps for books!!  (At least that is what I have heard.  If you know otherwise, let me know.)

With all the other ups and downs I am going through while learning about E-Publishing I am delighted to see I can dismiss Android apps–at least for now.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

